By Sampson Boroh

A relatively unknown Mr. David Lyon and preferred candidate of the Minister of State for Petroleum, Timipre Sylva, has won the governorship ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the forthcoming Bayelsa State governorship election.

Lyon is an ally of Sylva, also a former governor of the state.

He defeated five other aspirants including the immediate past Minister of State for Agriculture, Senator Heineken Lokpobiri, who was tipped to clinch the APC ticket to challenge the PDP candidate in the November this year.

ALSO READ:Gov Dickson’ Man, Senator Diri wins Bayelsa PDP governorship primary

Chairman APC Bayelsa State Governorship Primary Election Committee and Yobe State Governor, Mai-Mala Buni, said that Lyon polled 42,138 votes to emerged candidate of the party for the governorship election.

The APC governorship collation officer, Senator Emmanuel Dangana, who declared the results in Yenagoa, said Diseye Poweigha came second with 1,533 votes while Maureen Etebu got 964 votes.

Also Read:  Tribunal Sacks Senator Dino Melaye, Orders For Re-Run Election In Kogi West

Also, Ebitimi Amgbare polled 633 votes and the immediate past Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development, Heineken Lokpobiri, scored 571 votes while Preye Aganaba got 354 votes.

Dangana described the poll as peaceful, free and fair.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.