From Left: Senator Ahmed Lawan (New Senate President) and Senator Ali Ndume

Senator Ahmed Lawan has emerged the Senate President of the National ninth Assembly after defeating his opponent , Senator Ali Ndume in an election into the Senate President seat.

Lawan, who represents Yobe North Senatorial District, polled 79 votes to defeat Ndume who refused to back out from the senate president race despite pressure from his ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Ndume, who represents Borno South Senatorial District, in the well contested election scored 28 votes.

With his emergence, Senator Lawan becomes the 14th Senate President in the history of the National Assembly.

The new Senate President has already be sworn-in.

Also Read:  Ex-Delta Commissioner, Other Sapele PDP leaders Defect To APC In Delta


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.