Okowa re-elected as INEC declares PDP winner of Delta guber

Governor Okowa of Delta State

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the 2019 governorship election in Delta State.

The state Returning Officer, Prof. Jaja said Okowa polled a total of 925,274 votes to defeat the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief Great Ogboru who scored 215,938 votes.

Giving details of the results, Prof Jaja said the state has a total of 2,831,205 registered voters, saying that 1,188,784 were accredited during the governorship election which was held on Saturday.

He added that a total of 1,178,335 votes were cast during the election, out of which 1,154,188 votes were valid while 24,147 were rejected.

The Returning Officer subsequently declared Governor Okowa as governor at about 12:35pm.

Okowa in the election won 23 Local Government Areas of the state as against the two won by APC’s Chief Ogboru.

Following Okowa’s declaration, wild jubilation has greeted the PDP victory in some streets of Asaba, the state capital, on Monday.

Also Read:  Outrage in Bayelsa Over Alleged Military Invasion Of Ijaw Communities


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.