Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State and, his Bayelsa State counterpart, Seriake Dickson

By Oginyi Ruth

Governors Ifeanyi Okowa and Seriake Dickson of Delta and Bayelsa States have received awards of excellence for their outstanding contributions to the development of polytechnics education in the country.

Also awarded is the Governing Board Chairman of the Federal Polytechnic Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State, Chief Austin Edeze.

The trio and others were honoured at Nigeria National Merit Award house, Maitama Abuja, Nigeria during the 5th National Delegate Conference of Senior Staff Association of Nigeria Polytechnics (SSANIP) on Tuesday.

ALSO READ: Gunmen Kill 42-Year-Old Chairman Of Butchers Association In Bayelsa

While Governor Okowa of Delta, was given award of excellence for polytechnics development, his counterpart in Bayelsa, Governor Dickson, was awarded with a meritorious service award to education.

Chief Edeze won the award for best performing Governing Council Chairman in the country.

Speaking at the event, Chief Edeze, who doubled as a Board of Trustee (BoT) Member of the All Progressives Congress (APC), called on union bodies in the country to embrace dialogue in their agitation rather than being confrontational.

Also Read:  FG Orders Immediate Closure Of Varsities, Schools Nationwide

YOU MAY ALSO READ: Hoodlums Burgle Ughelli Govt College Principal’s Office, Four Arrested

He assured that Federal Polytechnic, Ado-Ekiti will continue to embrace policies and programmes that will better the welfare of staff and students of the institution and beyond.

He commended President Mohammed Buhari for signing into law Nigeria Polytechnics Act into law.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.